1988RedT2
1988RedT2 MegaDork
1/9/20 12:14 p.m.

So, all this talk about mini-split heat pumps has me thinking I could DIY one in the detached garage.  It's a frame structure with a concrete floor, 2x4 stud walls, and a roof, but no ceiling and no insulation anywhere.

I'd almost consider just putting in the system and letting it blow all the time I'm out there, but I feel like that would be something of a waste of money.

I could prolly sheetrock the walls myself.  I've got some experience working with the stuff, but it's an expense I'd rather avoid.   I could just staple in some insulation.  What's the least expensive option for insulating a garage?

As it is, I find the weather is an excuse to not work on projects out there 8 months out of the year.  It's either too dang hot, or too dang cold.

John Welsh
John Welsh Mod Squad
1/9/20 12:28 p.m.

If you invest in the insulation first wouldn't that get you back some of the time to make the place usable in the hottest months.  Then, as cash allows, make it better for the coldest times with the addition of a heat source. 

Shadeux
Shadeux GRM+ Memberand Reader
1/9/20 12:29 p.m.

Far out thought: Get a bunch of radiators and pump ground water through them using solar panels. Year round free heat / cool.

Otherwise just stuff fiberglass batts everywhere. Not sure there is a cheaper way. The easy button is spray foam, but that may be expensive. Depends on where you live.

STM317
STM317 UltraDork
1/9/20 12:59 p.m.
1988RedT2 said:

I could prolly sheetrock the walls myself.  I've got some experience working with the stuff, but it's an expense I'd rather avoid.   I could just staple in some insulation.  What's the least expensive option for insulating a garage?