crankwalk
crankwalk GRM+ Memberand Dork
12/31/15 6:18 p.m.

Hey folks,

I have an insurance question for you. I have been residing in Anchorage, AK for about 10 months (love it here by the way)but my 240Z is at my house in GA. I don't have insurance currently because it's just sitting in my garage and I would have had only liability on it anyway. If there was a house fire, the car wouldn't be covered anyway since they would say it should be covered by car insurance, which it wouldn't because liability doesn't cover it.

I plan on coming back in to town for the Mitty and I'd like to be able to drive it around for 3-4 days before putting it back up in the garage for probably another year or so.

Are there any insurance policies out there for stuff like this? 6 mo policies and/or agreed value collector car insurance just doesn't seem to make sense since I literally cannot drive it more than these few days. I want to be legal but I don't want to throw down a ton of money for 40 miles in a 1973 Datsun either.

Thanks for the suggestions.

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
12/31/15 6:23 p.m.

Call Hagerty. This is what they do.

crankwalk
12/31/15 6:46 p.m.
Keith Tanner wrote: Call Hagerty. This is what they do.

Is it though? I feel like i've called them (or was it grundy) andI'd rather not set an agreed value of $6k or whatever minimum they might have and have a yearly premium for literally a trip to Road Atlanta and back. I'm not just an occasional use or mileage restricted kind of guy, it would just be use for 4 days out of the year and then stop it and I don't know if that exists.

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
12/31/15 7:08 p.m.

If you're not sure you've called them, call them again. It's easy and the worst they can do is say no. If you want short-term insurance, you'll have to talk to an insurance company. And a year of Hagerty insurance is cheap anyhow. Cheaper than renting a car to drive for 3-4 days.