DrBoost
DrBoost UltimaDork
8/25/14 9:25 a.m.

I want to use my iPhone5 to read OBDII info. A few years ago I did a bunch of reading about what was available (for the 4 back then) but didn’t pull the trigger. I’m betting that quite a few of you are using this stuff, so can you tell me what you are using and if you like it?

neon4891
neon4891 UltimaDork
8/25/14 9:39 a.m.

My info is dated, but last I knew, the cheap($15) dongles are Android only. Apple ones ran $100+

e46potenza
e46potenza New Reader
8/25/14 10:07 a.m.

Android stuff works alright for the price, but I have no experience with iphone stuff. If it works as good as the android stuff though, I say go for it.

Tom_Spangler
Tom_Spangler GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
8/25/14 10:08 a.m.
neon4891 wrote: My info is dated, but last I knew, the cheap($15) dongles are Android only. Apple ones ran $100+

I'm 1000% Android, but I don't know why the cheap dongles wouldn't work with an iPhone. They are just Bluetooth devices. All you'd need is an app, and I can't imagine that there isn't one for iOS.

Montana
Montana New Reader
8/25/14 10:18 a.m.

DashCommand - OBD-II get a cheap OBD2 dongle and this app should work. as per my google search result

HappyAndy
HappyAndy UltraDork
8/25/14 11:15 a.m.

Go to Amazon, and search iPhone OBD2. There are quite a few dongles under $50. I'm an Android guy, so I can't give any recommendations from my own experience.

DrBoost
DrBoost UltimaDork
8/25/14 4:35 p.m.

Thanks folks. I am surprised more people here don't have these.

HappyAndy
HappyAndy UltraDork
8/25/14 4:59 p.m.
DrBoost wrote: Thanks folks. I am surprised more people here don't have these.

That's because all the smart kids are using Androids

DrBoost
DrBoost UltimaDork
8/25/14 5:30 p.m.

Don't get me started! If I start ripping on the Android crowd they won't comprehend it, and I'll have to explain it to them v-e-r-y simplistically.

e46potenza
e46potenza Reader
8/25/14 5:37 p.m.