1 2
stanger_missle
stanger_missle GRM+ Memberand Dork
2/25/18 5:23 p.m.

Since GRM has the most amazing people and the largest cross section of experience on everything; I figure I'd turn to you guys for advice.

Just a warning, this post will probably turn into a novel.

Sooo, to start off, I separated from the Air Force in March 2017 after 15 years of service. I was an electronics technician (2E2X1 and then 3D172, Cyber Transport). I worked on everything from Cold War era strategic comm systems to cutting edge, everything-over-IP tactical networks. However, I never sought out a degree because I was short sighted (I'm going to do 20 and retire!).

Now, I'm trying to get my footing again. I work at an auto parts store making $11/hr and I had to move back in with my folks. So a less than ideal situation. I also despise being back in my hometown. Everybody I once knew is long gone and well, I'll call it a "blue collar paradise" to be respectful.

I've applied to a few IT jobs that pay more than $11/hr (but not by much!) only to be turned away by my lack of a degree.

There in lies the rub: I have a decent amount of experience but no degree. I do have a Security+ certificate but that doesn't amount to much. I worked a lot of Cisco based networking, Windows user admin/Active Directory, Cisco Unified Call Manager/VOIP administration and some satellite network management.

I do have my Post 9/11 GI Bill which I have not touched. I would love to go to school but I have so much debt that I'd have to work in addition to going to school, just to stay afloat financially.

Basically, I really dropped the ball when I planned on getting out of the military. I was making $60k a year and I'd like to get back to that level (or more) but I feel like I'm stuck here.