Ram50Ron
Ram50Ron GRM+ Memberand New Reader
7/12/18 2:01 p.m.

GRM engineering hive learn me what CAD package you use for personal projects.  I do a lot of CAD at work, on both Solidworks 2015 and Siemens NX12.  I have a student version of Solidworks 2016 at home that is set to expire in 20 days with no way to renew for free.  I still have access to my .edu email since I graduated less than a year ago so I cold possibly snag another student edition of some other CAD software.  I have a couple buddies that swear by Fusion 360 but the user interface seems a little clunky to me.  Has anyone used Fusion 360 that could offer any insight on it.  I know I probably just need to power through my dislike for it and get accustomed to it.  It's just hard to break 8 years of Solidworks use and 4 years of NX use for yet another CAD package.

I do have access to both Solidworks and NX12 on the work laptop at home but I'd rather do my personal projects on my personal laptop without corporate software licenses for to avoid potential personal IP conflicts.

WonkoTheSane
WonkoTheSane GRM+ Memberand Dork
7/12/18 3:18 p.m.

I haven't used it extensively, but there will be some reprogramming if you're normally a SW pilot..  The biggest limitations seem to be on the higher-end stuff.  The 95%-of-the-project appears to be quite functional, though often not as polished or flexible as you're used to with either of the more professional offerings.   My friends using it say the biggest concern is the licensing & cloud storage/subscription model, not necessarily with the software which they've used to make some quite impressive assemblies.

For the price, as a home-gamer, I'd roll the dice for a while.   For a shop, the subscription model would keep me from even evaluating it.

pheller
pheller PowerDork
7/12/18 3:29 p.m.

I still wish I had the time and space to have a little 3D printer so I could prototype little doodads, then have some online CAD shop CNC said doodads in metal. 

ProDarwin