Tom Suddard
Tom Suddard GRM+ Memberand SonDork
7/26/11 12:00 a.m.

Well, as the topic states, I need to learn about studio lighting (for still photography).

I'm taking more and more pictures for both magazines (as well as most of the school sports teams), and as I grow as a photographer I'm becoming more and more comfortable with artificial lighting. I'm also beginning to realize that when properly used, artificial light can help almost any picture.

I've been getting by with a few speed lights and Nikon's rudimentary slave system, but I'm tired of it all. I need more lights, and brighter lights, hopefully without paying $500 (or more ) per light head. I'm also tired of waiting forever for speed lights to recycle, and I'd like to be able to easily attach umbrellas/soft boxes/etc.

I need at least 3 lights capable of lighting a car or two at night.

So, I've realized that proper studio strobes are the logical choice. I did some research, and I think I've got a pretty good idea of what all the terms/designs are.

Monolights are single units with one flash head and one power pack connected as a unit, correct? And the competing format is one central power pack with a few flash heads connected to it.

I've used monolights before, but never a central power pack system. However, I don't really like monolights. They teeter on top of tall stands, and if you need a lot of heads they are expensive, because you're essentially buying a new power pack for every head. I like the idea of one central power pack where you can adjust output, as well as the relative low cost to add additional heads. For these reasons, I've basically ruled out monolights and decided on a power pack/ flash head system.

So, because I'm buying used, and have only a $300-$500 price range, I'm looking at used light kits on eBay. The big names seem to be Novatron, Speedotron, and Profoto.