fifty
fifty Reader
9/15/13 9:16 p.m.

Y'all!

We're in the DC area this week and looking for a house in the $600K range. We have 2 elementary aged kids, so neighborhood schools are an issue. There is nothing in DC in our price range (at least not with my garage requirement), so we are looking at Alexandria, VA and the Silver Springs , MD area.

The Adam's Rib will be commuting into the city, I'm a Physical Therapist so will be roosting closer to home.

Any suggestions / input?

Thanks, Iain

DirtyBird222
DirtyBird222 UltraDork
9/15/13 9:51 p.m.

In reply to fifty:

We live in Fairfax right now and my wife loves it. The schools here are great, things are very convenient, you should be able to find a home close that price, seems like a very decent community. Lot's of dealerships and auto parts store near by, etc etc etc.

We had the same argument last year around this time. Both states have their pros and cons and both like taxes. Virginia does have a personal property tax on thigns like vehicles, atvs, watercraft, etc. State, county, and city taxes.

We are out of here soon and if we ever come back we would pick Fairfax again. Things just seem nicer in NOVA compared to Maryland. Driver's are horrible in the whole region though. Stay away from the Southeast region of DC near Bolling and Andrews AFB.

spitfirebill
spitfirebill UberDork
9/16/13 7:40 a.m.

I feel sorry for you, but that's just me. Been through the area several times and the traffic would drive me insane. Is there somewhere you can live and catch commuter trains in?

I once did a job in Manassas. Beautiful area. Then in the afternon, I saw the worst traffic back up on US 29 I've ever seen right at the battlefield. Guess who was trying to do some siteseeing?

fifty
fifty Reader
9/16/13 7:50 a.m.

Thanks all! Yes, traffic is nuts. But, public transport is good.

petegossett
petegossett GRM+ Memberand UberDork
9/16/13 8:51 a.m.