1 2 3
Beer Baron
Beer Baron MegaDork
8/12/18 11:13 a.m.

I went and saw Smashing Pumpkins last night. Really great show. Got me thinking a bit about the first rock concert I went to.

My dad took me to see Yes when I was a freshman (I think) in high school. Would have been around '96. I liked classic rock. These middle aged guys who haven't released anything noteworthy for a while were rocking out playing their classics. I really enjoyed that concert, but definitely felt like the teenager going to a show with all the "old people".

Fast forward and I'm 36 watching the Smashing Pumpkins in 2018. Here are these middle aged guys I grew up listening to who haven't released anything noteworthy for a while rocking out playing their classics...

Oh...

pheller
pheller PowerDork
8/12/18 11:28 a.m.

I realized a few years back that I was pretty much done listening to most bands I grew up with. Even Weezer, who I still enjoy, just doesn't have the same ring to it like it had 10 or 20 years ago. I almost can't stand listening to Metallica anymore, or Disturbed. Pearl Jam I can handle, but that's because I didn't listen to them a ton. Megadeath is pretty fun. None of those bands I'd pay to see. 

I think a lot of people are that way now, and I think it will greatly change the music industry. Spotify and streaming services buy the albums, you buy the service, they mix them up, and you never really care who's playing, just that it meshes nicely with the other music on the station. 

On the flip side I have a buddy who flew out to Seattle to see Pearl Jam, then is following them to Montana. Two concerts, same bad, twice in a week. I think that's kinda goofy. 

Will
Will UltraDork
8/12/18 12:08 p.m.

I saw Garbage two years ago. Obviously they're never going to be as big as they once were, but their last two albums were both pretty good.

Type Q
Type Q SuperDork
8/12/18 12:14 p.m.