1 2
erasmus229
erasmus229 Reader
12/17/13 9:39 p.m.

Thinking about retiring the 88 Subaru go with 250k in favor of a 97 Lexus ls400 with 160k. I have a short commute but will be taking the little one daycare with it. Subie has been a smoker car and I'm a tech at Toyota. I don't see a downside but need more input . Good buy or foolish whim?

mndsm
mndsm UltimaDork
12/17/13 9:43 p.m.

One of the most bulletproof cars ever made.

carbon
carbon Reader
12/17/13 9:56 p.m.

You're a tech at toyota, think of the ls400 as them trying as hard as they've ever tried.

Brett_Murphy
Brett_Murphy GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
12/17/13 10:01 p.m.

I don't see any downside to this if the Lexus is a reasonable price.

erasmus229
erasmus229 Reader
12/17/13 10:08 p.m.

Reasonable price with employee discount Always heard they were good and we only see them for routine stuff. Seems like fun. Not blistering off the line but handles good and rolling accel is sweet.

Kenny_McCormic
Kenny_McCormic UltraDork
12/17/13 10:45 p.m.

In reply to carbon:

Its like they hit a Mercedes 560SEL with the Toyota stick REALLLLLLLLLLY hard.

former520
former520 Reader
12/17/13 11:25 p.m.

Picked one up for the Mrs several years ago due in part by the rep here. Got it at 190k with full records for $1500 and sold it earlier this year with 260k for $2200.

In that time we did have some repairs/ maintenance. I was able to do it all myself as it is a pretty easy car to work on (it does have a ton of vacuum lines on the 91 we had). Barring on the clutch fan failed (it is not mounted to the water pump), had to take the timing belt off to replace and did a full tune up/ water pump/ timing belt. Had to replace a valve cover gasket and a factory radio. Other than brakes and tires, it was no trouble. Hard to not recommend.

mad_machine
mad_machine GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
12/18/13 8:52 a.m.

I do not see a downside to this

Powar
Powar SuperDork
12/18/13 1:55 p.m.