1 2
Ranger50
Ranger50 UltimaDork
9/11/18 1:14 p.m.

I work in healthcare. I have 5yrs experience doing what I do. Why do I have to waste lots of time interviewing for “slam dunk” positions? It’s just a formality at this point. Why can’t it be done on the spot, I had the time when I met the manager? The rest of the paperwork could have already been done by now.

rant off.

z31maniac
z31maniac MegaDork
9/11/18 1:27 p.m.

I had 4 interviews for my current position. 

I can only think of one time I got a position nearly on the spot, they called me just after I left to offer me the job. But the president of the company recommended me, so the interview was essentially a formality.

Last position was "one" interview, more like one site visit. But it was still 3 interviews:
- 1st was HR Generalist, both engineering managers and lead engineer.

- 2nd was Director of HR only

- 3rd was the COO

For what it's worth, at least in Tech Writing 5 years of experience may still have you interviewing for something barely above entry-level. We just extended an offer to someone to start here next month, he has ~13 years of experience and is still coming in a lower-level than my "Senior" title and I have 2.5 years less experience.

Ranger50
Ranger50 UltimaDork
9/11/18 1:40 p.m.

I should add that I’m going to a rural hospital from the big city one...

jharry3
jharry3 GRM+ Memberand Reader
9/11/18 2:14 p.m.

I changed jobs 3 times in 25 years.  I was recruited from the last job each time so there was no interview other than filling out HR paperwork.  Then the bottom dropped out of the oil market in 2015.  I was involuntarily unemployed for the first time in my life. And had I started working changing tires when I was a teenager in the '70's.

I went on a lot of interviews.  Most were for jobs I was overqualified, they knew it, and was told the same thing every time even though I was sincere about just wanting a position and didn't care about the title or rank.