Login Register Sign up for the GRM e-newsletter

Login to post Forums » Off-topic discussion » Scam?
  • DukeOfUndersteer

    Sept. 21, 2011 11:59 a.m. DukeOfUndersteer SuperDork

    There is no way this is that cheap:

    Dodge Ram - $1900 said:

    The truck runs great! The engine compartment looks clean, and free of any leaks. All the power controls and buttons work.

    http://atlanta.craigslist.org/atl/cto/2610011169.html

  • 92CelicaHalfTrac

    Sept. 21, 2011 12:00 p.m. 92CelicaHalfTrac SuperDork

    Uhhh... if it's not, i would buy that.

  • 1988RedT2

    Sept. 21, 2011 12:12 p.m. 1988RedT2 Dork

    I like how he states "the engine compartment LOOKS clean, and free from any leaks" as if to imply that it really isn't, or that there's a big hole in the bottom of the transmission from which fluid pours.

    I'd be curious, and a tad suspicious.

  • MadScientistMatt

    Sept. 21, 2011 12:15 p.m. MadScientistMatt Dork

    Doesn't look too implausible - the angles look like they're shot to conceal sunburned paint, it's probably rather high miles, and gas thirsty big trucks aren't selling at a premium right now.

    If I was in the market for a cheap truck, I'd drop him an email, and only be suspicious of a scam if I couldn't set up a time to see it in person and arrange a test drive. I would, of course, be suspicious of some sort of mechanical issue that may be making him want to sell.

  • integraguy

    Sept. 21, 2011 12:29 p.m. integraguy SuperDork

    When I see ads like this, my first thought is HUGE miles. As in 200K AND MORE.

    I also want to do very not nice things to maroons who leave out things like "what year?" "what engine/transmission"? and if the engine compartment "LOOKS" clean....show a picture!!!

    Not necessarily a scam, but probably not a bargain, either.

  • Sept. 21, 2011 12:44 p.m. mndsm SuperDork

    I'd bet it was legit, and i'd further bet that truck was a complete dog.

  • cwh

    Sept. 21, 2011 12:46 p.m. cwh SuperDork

    There are a few signs to look for. No phone number. No city/ location shown. Too cheap. If you e-mail them you will probably get a sob story of some sort. You will not be able to see the truck. Go ahead, see what response you get from an e-mail. Let us know how it goes.

  • Grtechguy

    Sept. 21, 2011 1:48 p.m. Grtechguy SuperDork

    I'm guess 200K+ on the miles.

    probably the 318 with a bad automatic transmission. Maybe the 6

    I've seen several in the price range.

    Edit for examples:

    $1200 get you this http://grandrapids.craigslist.org/cto/2608809068.html

    $1500 get you this http://grandrapids.craigslist.org/cto/2605515635.html

    $1900 gets you this one http://grandrapids.craigslist.org/cto/2600790573.html

    $2200 gets you: http://grandrapids.craigslist.org/cto/2562197353.html

  • Sept. 21, 2011 2:17 p.m. spitfirebill SuperDork

    I say scam. Doesn't even mention the year, mileage or if its 4x4 (which it appears to be). If its not a scam, the seller really isn't very smart.

  • integraguy

    Sept. 21, 2011 5:03 p.m. integraguy SuperDork

    LOOKS, like a 4X4, but since the front diff is also obscured in photos, I'll bet this is another one of those "I've always wanted a jacked up pickup truck, just never could afford the 4X4".

  • 2.0dohc

    Sept. 21, 2011 5:13 p.m. 2.0dohc Reader

    same add is listed locally...scam

  • friedgreencorrado

    Sept. 21, 2011 5:17 p.m. friedgreencorrado SuperDork

    spitfirebill wrote:

    I say scam. Doesn't even mention the year, mileage or if its 4x4 (which it appears to be). If its not a scam, the seller really isn't very smart.

    Well, we are talking about CL here..

  • spin_out

    Sept. 22, 2011 8:06 a.m. spin_out Reader

    Scam. It's also listed as being located in Tampa and Sarasota. Guess I should have flagged it.

 
Tire Rack- Revolutionizing Tire Buying

You'll need to log in to post.