1 2 3 4
infinitenexus
infinitenexus Reader
10/15/19 2:13 p.m.

I got an associate's in computer programming (which I don't enjoy at all) back in 2002.  Since then I went to the language academy while in the Army (DLI FLC) twice for two foreign languages - and with a couple classes I could turn those into associates degrees.  Plus I have some trade school certifications.  That's it, nothing higher.   I don't really think three associate's would be an improvement on one though.  To be honest I don't care entirely what I do for a living, I just want to pay my bills, have a few bucks left over, and be happy.  The modern job market definitely seems to require a bachelor's degree for anything halfway decent, so I've been thinking of using the last of my GI bill to maybe build on my prior education and get a degree in something that'll help me get a decent job.  I feel the lack of education, combined with my oddly specific job skills from the army, have been some of the most limiting factors in me being where I am right now.

Any recommendations here?  My whole life I've been told I should have been an engineer, as I love designing things and figuring them out and my brain works well with analyzing things and details.  All that math is fairly daunting though.  I was considering some type of generic "business administration" degree that's relatively quick and easy to get and looks good on a resume.  Or something related to medical billing, since I'm moving down to central/south florida and that's a pretty big business down there.  I just want a better future for my family.  Any advice would be welcomed.

mtn
mtn MegaDork
10/15/19 2:31 p.m.

Our company will hire people into entry level positions without a degree. They'll promote them within, we have executives reporting to our COO that I'm not sure if they have even a GED. It hasn't hurt them at all in our company, however, they probably can never really leave our company - and, they had to start at the very bottom.