1 2
mtn
mtn MegaDork
1/11/18 11:08 a.m.

I'm starting my taxes for 2017. For my side gig, I am an independent contractor, meaning I technically "own" my business. I'm trying to figure out how to calculate my home office space for my house.

My house is about 1380 square feet according to the tax assessor, There is a small bedroom (10x12) that has a desk, and that is it. That room is used basically 100% for my admin of my independent contracting, although just a 4x5 area of it is (the space where I sit down to file reports at the desk). Then I keep my equipment (it smells) in the basement. This is in another room that is about 12x15, and is basically all that is in that room, other than Christmas decorations. The equipment takes up about a 5x5 area. 

What is the space that is used for my business? It depends on how you look at it, but it is either 20sqft, 120sqft, 45sqft, or 300sqft. Which is it? The area that I'm actually using, or the entire room? Can I include the space in the basement? Can I use two different spaces, that are both dedicated to the business?

After that, how do I calculate what percentage of the house is being used for the business? Do I just use the 1300 square feet mark, or do I calculate the total of the basement too? 

Then, what else am I able to write off? Internet (not cable) and cell phone is obvious--both are necessary for the business. Can I write them both off completely, even though they're used for personal use too?

What about my electric and water bills? I assume a portion of them can be for the business--I'd probably just use the same percentage that I did for the mortgage. 

Thoughts? Get an accountant?

FWIW, I ran through the numbers. Even with all of this it is more likely that I end up owing money than getting a refund. 

Duke
Duke MegaDork
1/11/18 11:42 a.m.

I would say you can make a reasonable assertion that you use the entire room for business, not just the desk area.