1 2
Toyman01
Toyman01 GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
9/29/14 4:02 p.m.

I have a rental house that I've been renting month to month for about 3 years. It's in a historic area, walking distance to shopping, bike distance to the beaches and minutes to historic downtown Charleston by car. I'm considering turning it into a furnished vacation/weekly/monthly rental at a substantially higher price. It's renting now at about $1200/month. As a vacation rental it looks to be about $1000/week. Most of the houses in the area look to be staying booked about 80%. That's pretty real money and I can do a fair amount of work for that.

Anyone done this or used them as a owner or a renter?

Cone_Junkie
Cone_Junkie SuperDork
9/29/14 4:16 p.m.

I've used AirBnB quite a few times.

First time I used it was in Flagstaff on our trip to the Grand Canyon. It was cheaper than the local hotels. As a bonus, the owner was a private tour guide for the Canyon and gave us all the great spots to hit.
We used it again the next night when we traveled down to Sedona. Mixed feelings on that one, but nothing was mis-represented. Still cheaper than hotels in the area. Especially since everything was last minute and had limited hotel availability.

My best experience was on our trip to New England a couple weeks ago. We got a Brownstone on Commonwealth Ave in Boston for $150 a night. Location was absolutely incredible. The owner was great to deal with and arranged to stow our luggage for a while since we arrived many hours before check-in. Again, cheaper than a local hotel, but better facilities IMO.

Also used it for a last minute change while in NH. We ended up in a private lakehouse in Wolfsboro. A private lake house was MUCH better then sharing a house with a half dozen other extended family members.