1 2
paranoid_android74
paranoid_android74 SuperDork
6/21/16 9:53 p.m.

So since the weekend I've been thinking semi seriously about getting a bike. At best the actual purchase would be a year out, so I'm starting the daydreaming/learning phase.

From what I've read so far, the type of bike I'd be interested in seems to be a dual sport bike. I've always called them enduros, but what evs.

Being a total noob, I'm thinking small bore would be good to start with. But I'd like to be able to grow into it and not be bored with it as my skills build. Is there such a bike/displacement?

And then there's the learning to ride part. Initially I'm thinking of taking it out on remote dirt roads up north where our cabin is. I haven't looked yet, but I'm sure there are more places to go that are more local to me. Then after I get comfortable with it maybe venture out on small road trips locally. Does this seem to be a good approach?

I've ridden a motorcycle exactly twice, twenty years ago. It was in a Saturday/Sunday motorcycle safety course. I passed the course and never did anything else.

Any advice?

BoxheadTim
BoxheadTim GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
6/21/16 10:17 p.m.

Advice? Take another MSF course .

The main problem with enduro bikes is that you want something small and light for off-road and something like a 650 thumper for on-road so you don't get flattened by the first semi you encounter. With your plan I'd start small and stay off the highways - after all, skierd managed to ride a Yamaha 250 all the way to Alaska.

paranoid_android74
6/21/16 10:20 p.m.

In reply to BoxheadTim:

Thank you! That is good advice.

Freeways are the last place I would want to be. If the bike goes any kind of distance to be ridden, it would be on a trailer until I get there.

What displacement would be a good place to start?

mith612
mith612 Reader
6/21/16 11:40 p.m.