1 2
93gsxturbo
93gsxturbo Reader
4/21/09 10:20 p.m.

Holy buckets!

I have been riding older rockets for a few years now. 94 ZX-9 with a 993 kit and flat slide carbs, pretty modified; a basically stock (filter, jet kit, full pipe) 1992 ZX-11;and a basically stock with exhaust 98 TL1000.

I just got a box stock 2001 Suzuki GSX-R 1000 tonight for a challenge friendly price. It is scary. Took it for a lil spin tonight and couldnt bring myself to whack the throttle in any gear. 75 comes up WAY too quick. 15 horse and 150lbs less than my big Ninja.

I love it already! If you have not ridden a newer unlimited class bike, you owe it to yourself to give it a shot. People are hurting for cash right now and there are GREAT deals to be found.

SkinnyG
SkinnyG Reader
4/21/09 11:57 p.m.

I can picture myself a crumpled heap at the end of a long skid mark and a bent-over yield sign.

vazbmw
vazbmw New Reader
4/22/09 12:08 a.m.

That is funny, but it happens a lot Mister Pinks eats it

SkinnyG wrote: I can picture myself a crumpled heap at the end of a long skid mark and a bent-over yield sign.
Xceler8x
Xceler8x GRM+ Memberand Dork
4/22/09 8:22 a.m.

Those bikes are stupid fast. How'd you get one at a challenge price? Was it involved in the murder of a close relative or something?

Grtechguy
Grtechguy SuperDork
4/22/09 10:09 a.m.

I'd love the power of a Gixxer, but I commute on my bike and wouldn't be comfortable crunched over all the time.

stuart in mn
stuart in mn Dork
4/22/09 12:42 p.m.

I have a '79 GS1000 that's been souped up a bit and an '82 Katana, and I know how fast those things are, but they'd be hard put to keep up with a modern 600cc sportbike. I'd almost be scared to try a modern full size sportbike.

93gsxturbo
93gsxturbo Reader
4/22/09 1:44 p.m.

Just an issue of right place, right time, right seller. Its not perfect but it runs and rides 100% and maintenance was excellent before I got it.

Mental
Mental SuperDork
4/22/09 2:13 p.m.