dankspeed
dankspeed Reader
8/21/11 8:33 a.m.

With my new job I have a 5 mile commute to work and it's all main roads (no highway). Right now I'm forced to drive my expedition but I'm very tempted to pick up a small scooter to save on gas. I pass a couple bike riders every morning so If it's safe enough for them I figure I should be ok. I should mention I have no "riding" experience but can't imagine it's that hard to ride one of these little guys.

Thanks Dan

Graefin10
Graefin10 HalfDork
8/21/11 8:48 a.m.

Have you read through the thread "So I Bought a Ruckus", I think it's called. If not look it up and read it. IMO they are too slow and because of that, unsafe for most streets in the US. My home in Pensacola is near the Un. of W. FL. I see college kids riding happily along, doing 30mph on 9-mile road, with no helmet while traffic is lining up behind them. On 35mph streets you might get away with it. I see the appeal but I've decided if I get a scooter it will have to be able to hit 75mph.

Woody
Woody GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
8/21/11 8:50 a.m.

I just sold one.

The dangerous part about riding a Ruckus or any other 49cc scooter is that they're so slow. 43 mph was absolute top speed on my stock Ruckus, and you don't get there quickly, so you need to be constantly aware of what's around you.

If you're looking for something to ride for fun, that's one thing. If your goal is to save fuel/cash, understand that, out the door, a new Ruckus is about $2400, used ones usually bring about $1800. Even if you're driving an Expedition on your five mile commute, you can buy a bit of gas for that. Plus you can scare the crap out of all the scooter riders with your enormous SUV.

dankspeed
dankspeed Reader
8/21/11 8:57 a.m.

My commute doesn't see anything above 35 mph. Just looking to save on gas, not looking for anything too exciting. point A to point B. haven't seen that thread about buying a ruckus. I also would be wearing a helmet on mine , no exceptions.

Zomby woof