Giant Purple Snorklewacker
Giant Purple Snorklewacker MegaDork
3/26/13 9:45 a.m.

I rode an old tired one over the weekend (88k). I have been without a bike for a while now so I'm wearing very thick rose colored glasses and know nothing about these bikes except for now I want one badly.

What am I looking for in a winner, what should I pay and what traps await the over-eager? I've been riding for 20 years but always on more sporty Japanese stuff with chain drive so I'm not a noob to bikes but driveshafts, fuel injection, ground clearance and luggage space are new and welcome (I think?). My last bike was a VFR I rode 33k on and I loved everything about it except it didn't go down dirt roads and it looked like a red jelly bean. I need a good cross-country, all weather, some gravel / sand traversal machine that never breaks down and only needs me to give it love once a season. I already have a race car that needs something all the time.

I can't afford a new one and I don't want a project bike... looking for the sweet spot.

Fire away.

ddavidv
ddavidv PowerDork
3/26/13 11:43 a.m.

The search function sucks and requires creative inputs, but this would be the place to go: ADV Rider GS forum

914Driver
914Driver MegaDork
3/26/13 11:54 a.m.

Poke around here. http://www.ibmwr.org/

alex
alex UltraDork
3/26/13 1:28 p.m.

I used to wrench on Beemers at an independent shop. Came to love GSes over all of them. I'm no font of info as I've been out of the game for a long while now, but I'll tell you this: you probably want one, and you'll probably love it.