LanEvo
LanEvo GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
9/21/18 1:08 p.m.

As the title says. I have zero experience with welding. Just bought a house and have a large garage for the first time. I'd like to be able to do rust repairs and other general "fooling around with old crappy cars" kind of stuff.

What's the best way to learn well enough to get decent/serviceable results without investing years of time? Do people still start with stick welding, or just go straight to MIG?

Toyman01
Toyman01 GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
9/21/18 1:28 p.m.

For general automotive welding, go with a MIG. A trip to the pawn shops will usually find you a decent MIG machine for a couple of hundred. Hobart and Miller are the preferred brands. The Hobarts will be a good bit cheaper. 

Learning is a case of practice. YouTube videos will help as well but mostly it's lots and lots of practice. You might also consider a welding course at the local tech school. 

Ram50Ron
Ram50Ron GRM+ Memberand Reader
9/21/18 1:31 p.m.

There is no replacement for years of practice.

However,  Youtube videos, a basic understanding of metallurgy and heat transfer will get you pretty far.  A MIG is a good starting place to learn puddle control and setting up the machine.  Get a cheap welder and some scrap metal to practice running beads and sticking coupons together. Prep your metal before you weld even if that is just hitting it quick with a paddle wheel to get the mill scale off of it. Clean metal is happy metal.  Also while shielding gas can be expensive it offers more repeatable results and personally I find it easier to deal with than flux core wire feed welding.

APEowner
APEowner GRM+ Memberand Dork
9/21/18 2:26 p.m.