1 2 3
irish44j
irish44j Dork
8/26/11 11:27 a.m.

SOLDSOLDSOLDSOLD*

Background: My aunt's friend is recently a widow, and has to sell off this BMW quickly. So I'm trying to help out. Keep in mind as I write this up that she just needs the car gone, for whatever she can get for it. She's not going to try and make every penny its worth, whatever that is. Just more than what the "we buy junk cars" guys will give her.

I went and checked out the car today and took some pics. I am not a BMW expert by any means, but did try to check some areas that people suggested here and on bimmerforums.

1997 BMW 528i w/160k miles.

The good: Car was garage-kept for most of its life and has no rust anywhere that I can find. Paint has a few dings, but not bad for a 14-year-old car, and paint could use a serious detailing. Car was never in any accidents so all paint/panels are original. All trim, bumpers, and lights appear to be in good shape.

Interior: Again, seats look like they have 160k miles on them, but no rips, tears, or notable wear. Interior is a bit dirty, but in good shape overall. no cracks in dash or doors, dash looks very nice, etc.

Electrical: I tested out everything I could think of, and everything worked. Sunroof, all lights, stereo (w/6disc changer) sounded good and all buttons worked. HVAC system worked perfectly and A/C blew cool immediately after startup. Interior lights worked. Power seats worked (icnluding the memory controls). wipers worked. windows all went up and down fine, though back windows had a bit of clunky sound to them, but still went up and down fast.

Exhaust: looks newish, since there is only a bi tof surface rust on flanges and pipes. Was very quiet.

Diff: oily. probably needs new seals or something.

Tires: Kumho A/S with (guessing) 75% tread left in good shape, though a bit low on air.

Wheels: OEM mesh wheels, looked to be in good shape though a bit dirty.

Brakes: Rotors looked newer, and were cross-drilled.