1 2
SVreX (Forum Supporter)
SVreX (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
9/29/20 6:51 a.m.

Has there ever been a formal protest filed by a contestant at the $20XX Challenge?

I have been doing this since 2004 and am not aware of any. 

Just curious. 

Patrick (Forum Supporter)
Patrick (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
9/29/20 7:14 a.m.

There's one i wish someone would have(myself included), otherwise none I've heard of

AngryCorvair (Forum Supporter)
AngryCorvair (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
9/29/20 7:17 a.m.

Didn't someone protest themself in '04-'05 just to get something on the books as being legal? 

Robbie (Forum Supporter)
Robbie (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
9/29/20 7:18 a.m.

I thought the protest rule was a very recent addition - like was introduced in 2017 or 2018. Maybe it was around before but removed from the rules and then re-added. Maybe it was simply formalized recently. 

Tom Suddard
Tom Suddard GRM+ Memberand Director of Marketing & Digital Assets
9/29/20 7:43 a.m.

No, we've never had one. The formal protest rule has only been around for a few years. It was added after a number of informal protests were made, but no mechanism existed to act on them. 

SVreX (Forum Supporter)
9/29/20 8:05 a.m.

Huh. I was certain there was a protest rule all the way back in 2004...

SVreX (Forum Supporter)
9/29/20 8:06 a.m.

Ok. Thanks. 

wae
wae UltraDork
9/29/20 8:12 a.m.
SVreX (Forum Supporter) said:

Huh. I was certain there was a protest rule all the way back in 2004...

You know, I seem to remember people posting comments about coming to Gainesville with a stack of fifty-dollar bills to lodge protests about something or other way back when, so I went digging a bit in the Wayback machine.  From the $2006 Challenge rules:

28) Protests: Any car may be protested by another entrant.