B13Birk
B13Birk GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
11/21/22 9:05 a.m.

As some of you know I am currently piecing together a 280zx challenge car. I have found that S13 (240sx) coil overs can be easily adapted to work on my Z. The Build So Far

My question is... How bad is good enough? I have ZERO experience with Chinese coil overs like Maxspeed and rev9 or even ones with ZERO brand name on the internet.  I have found a set of off-brand coilovers for $100 and I'm just curious what the Challenge Hive mind thinks about running this type of setup. Not saying these exact ones, even new Chinese ones are $200 on ebay. I know they are junk... But are they usable junk? What if the springs are swapped out to something more pro? Anyways... tell me what yall think? 

The other option I know is to run normal struts with Coilover sleeves. Does that tend to be a better option than a true coilover? 

BoxheadTim
BoxheadTim GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
11/21/22 9:15 a.m.

Unknown condition coilovers = three are blown, not sure about the fourth one and I can't tell the difference anyway?

My guess is that you'll be better off with stock shocks and sleeves, as long as the stock shocks are in decent shape. At least if you can't rebuild the coilovers yourself.

DeadSkunk  (Warren)
DeadSkunk (Warren) UltimaDork
11/21/22 10:08 a.m.

I ran Chinese sleeves and springs on my stock Miata Bilsteins a few years ago. The whole thing cost $40. The shocks were in good condition when I bought the car. Ended up tied for second at the Challenge autocross. I wasn't able to find cheap coil overs that didn't have at least one shock leaking.

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
11/21/22 10:28 a.m.

The ones I tested had fundamental geometry problems that prevented them from being usable. Had the geometry worked, adding more pro springs would have just meant they were poorly damped - they managed to be both over and underdamped at the same time.