1 2
Kbags
Kbags New Reader
11/1/20 8:04 p.m.

What's going on everyone. I'm new to the $2000 dollar challenge. I tagged along with Jonathan this year with his rx7 and it made me want to build a car and join in on the fun. I'm going to be building a ls swapped 97 mustang for the event.

here she is in all her glory

1997 mustang gt roller I picked up for 500 bucks with out the wheels. Car has some 3:73 gears and some lowering springs. It has a bunch of other little goodies that are useless to me and will be selling to recoupe my $500 back

starting to get it stripped down already

wasted no time starting to search for an engine and got lucky found this complete 5.3 with the harness, ecu, and accessories for $400. Was told it came out of a Tahoe with 165k on it. Hoping to post some more progress soon

Stampie (FS)
Stampie (FS) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
11/1/20 8:12 p.m.

Nice to see that Central FL is trying to take over the Challenge.  I just sent the 350z down that way this evening.

Kbags
Kbags New Reader
11/1/20 8:20 p.m.

In reply to Stampie (FS) :

Nice! yeah I've been trying to get some other people to build a car too dont know if they will but it's worth a shot lol

pres589 (djronnebaum)
pres589 (djronnebaum) PowerDork
11/1/20 8:25 p.m.

Welcome to the forum!  Good luck with the build.  Make sure you know the rules on budgeting and recouping costs for the Challenge.  Document *everything*.

Kbags
Kbags New Reader
11/2/20 1:48 a.m.

In reply to pres589 (djronnebaum) :

Yeah I've Jon helping me quite a bit so far with rules and stuff I'm starting to get a pretty good understanding of them

Andy Neuman
Andy Neuman SuperDork
11/2/20 7:14 a.m.

The mustang is a good base for a challenge car. Decent suspension, not too heavy, good rear end, and can fit wide tires easily. 

surfshibby07
surfshibby07 HalfDork
11/2/20 11:42 a.m.

And not even to me. :(

surfshibby07
surfshibby07 HalfDork
11/2/20 11:43 a.m.