1 2
Robbie (Forum Supporter)
Robbie (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
10/13/21 9:19 a.m.

OK, I've got a 2.5 lb tank for my challenge car (only running a 30 shot). Still, I've never used nitrous before and I'm a bit worried about running out before I really figure it all out and get a good run in. 

I already have 1 tank in budget. If I bring a second full tank - I could swap it in if the first runs out but I don't have to budget the backup tank right? Only one would ever be on the car at the same time. 

Would anyone have a problem with this? I'm sure some of the nitrous guys have been in this situation before, I just haven't myself. 

maschinenbau
maschinenbau GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
10/13/21 11:17 a.m.

I'm cool with it but only if you up it to a 75 shot on the first run

Stampie
Stampie GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
10/13/21 11:55 a.m.

Sorry but I have to be constant in my answer. I see this as the electric vehicle question years back. The tanks should be in budget but the gas is free to budget. About to look up the rules.

Nitrous oxide refills do not count toward the budget (however, the cost of the equipment that comes along with a nitrous setup does need to be added to the budget).

Floating Doc (Forum Supporter)
Floating Doc (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
10/13/21 11:57 a.m.

I haven't ever heard of a 30 shot. Seems kind of...weak. 

Somehow, it reminds me of Winston Churchill's recipe for a martini. 

1. fill a glass with gin.

2. using the glass of gin, salute the bottle of vermouth on the mantle piece. 

Robbie (Forum Supporter)
10/13/21 12:19 p.m.
Stampie said:

Sorry but I have to be constant in my answer. I see this as the electric vehicle question years back. The tanks should be in budget but the gas is free to budget. About to look up the rules.

Nitrous oxide refills do not count toward the budget (however, the cost of the equipment that comes along with a nitrous setup does need to be added to the budget).