Presented by Nine Lives Racing
TVR Scott
TVR Scott GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
7/6/19 5:36 p.m.

Question for my TVR project - I'm trying to nail down a location for the air intake, and the real-estate in the front is getting full.

Quick overview - the car is a 1973 TVR 2500M, and the engine is a 2.0 EcoBoost.  Rough numbers - 250 hp / 360 ft-lb @ 21 psi, running the Ford Performance control pack.

There are two pretty nicely shaped NACA ducts on the hood, and the PS one lines up pretty well with the turbo intake.  Could I make a simple air-box that seals tight to the hood?

Looks like this:

Front of the car is to the right.  NACA duct has the screen on it.  I'm just propping up the air intake with the oil-filter bracket.  I know it looks weird.

Duct is 5" wide x 1.25" tall.  The outside of the hood looks like this:

Another view of the ducts from farther away:

Robbie
Robbie GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
7/6/19 8:39 p.m.

I'm not a professional, but those naca ducts do not look big enough for the job. What is the area of that naca duct and what is the area of say your turbo inlet or your throttle body?

I would want the naca duct opening to be physically bigger than the turbo inlet for sure. Even just ignoring pressure and assuming everything is basically atmospheric a small opening is called a "throttle", and you only want one of those.

But also, if it's easy, just do it for now. Intake tweaking is something you can do on a running car while also having fun driving it.

Robbie
7/6/19 8:41 p.m.

Oh, and make sure water doesn't drip directly onto your filter through the naca duct AND that your airbox has a drain at the bottom to let water out.

TVR Scott
7/6/19 8:53 p.m.

In reply to Robbie :

Thanks for the feedback.  The filter and turbo inlet are both 2.5" diameter, so nominally we can call it 4.9 sq.in. area.  Compare that to 5" X 1.25" which gives 6.25 sq.in.  So the NACA duct is bigger, but not a ton.