Wayslow
Wayslow HalfDork
10/24/17 8:57 p.m.

I've never done a build log but I figure it's a decent way to keep myself motivated.

So I went ahead and picked up a 2003 1.8T 5spd VW Passat donor for my Europa. Tonight the project officially kicked off. The old Toyota 4AGE and Renault Gearbox came out .  The pictures below are sorta before and after except I didn't think to take a picture until after the exhaust and cooling lines had been removed.

NOHOME
NOHOME UltimaDork
10/24/17 10:12 p.m.

You can count on me waiting for updates.

Ransom
Ransom GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
10/24/17 10:21 p.m.

Awesome! Looking forward to seeing how this goes. Any notion of relative weights and dimensions of the new/old? Did I miss that in another thread? I think I remember you asking around about Passat bits...

RossD
RossD MegaDork
10/25/17 7:33 a.m.

I'm in for the build thread!

Wayslow
Wayslow HalfDork
10/25/17 7:45 a.m.

In reply to Ransom :

Sorry I'm new to the whole build thread thing. I usually just work away without taking photos or telling people what my plans are.  I'll post the total weight of the original drivetrain vs the new. I'll also post some measurements. Stay tuned.

RossD
RossD MegaDork
10/25/17 9:24 a.m.

Does the Passat you bought have the 012 transmission? What three letter name does it have (ie DVZ or FRR)

Wayslow
Wayslow HalfDork
10/25/17 10:01 a.m.

In reply to RossD :

Ross. I know it's a 012 tranny but I haven't removed it yet. I'm new to the VAG world. What's the difference between the two?

RossD
RossD MegaDork
10/25/17 10:04 a.m.

I have no idea either, but I'm piling through both numbers and letter designations and I'm trying to wrap my head around it. lol.

I want to keep the Renault bits but I'm being tempted by relatively cheap transaxles that afford me more gears for better ratios, CV joints, higher strength, parts availability....

Ransom
Ransom GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
10/25/17 12:18 p.m.
Wayslow said:

In reply to Ransom :