1 2
KonaBoss
KonaBoss
9/11/17 12:26 p.m.

Hello everyone,

Have been reading this forum for about a year now, after a friend turned me onto the site. I'm an automotive engineer by trade, and like working on my own vehicles. So naturally once I got my daily drivers squared away (well, the superduty continues to like surprising me with random things it needs..) I needed a car that I could work on. And that is where the Lincoln comes into play: 

(There would be a picture here... What image hosting site is everyone using now since photobucket is on the fritz?)

The basic details: 1993 Lincoln Mark VIII, runs and drives, stops, air suspension still functional, interior pretty beat, had a previous front end collision with some mediocre repairs

The original idea came from a friend and I wanting to run the Detroit Gambler 500 next year. I have a couple of friends that have run it in the past, and sounded like an absolute blast. One day I was browsing the local CL, and came across this car. Owner had advertised it as great for a Cobra kit car swap, so naturally I questioned what was special enough to make this ugly-a** lincoln desirable. Little did I know, it has the 4.6L Ford 4 valve V8 out of the early mustang cobras... Not to mention the block is a Teksid all aluminum casting... Coupled to that is the 4R70W 4 speed auto with electronic overdrive, which you can lock into 1st and 2nd gear with the console shifter. Also there is the MN12 platform IRS out back, with a Ford 8.8 IRS center section. Accompanying all of the powertrain goodness is a air spring suspension setup that still functions. Sounded like a pretty good setup in my mind...

Build thread to follow

alfadriver
alfadriver MegaDork
9/11/17 1:16 p.m.

In reply to KonaBoss :

The other MN12 benefit- the suspension on the MKVIII is aluminum, where the T-bird/Cat are steel/cast iron.  Much lighter.

Which would matter IF the car was actually light.