1 2
florenj
florenj New Reader
2/23/21 3:23 p.m.

So I am very new to this forum but not so new to Neons.  Will start this project thread with a bit of background and then how I got my hands on this car.  For those that know, a Nitro Yellow Green (NYG) neon is very rare to begin with and is one of those 'special' cars that are somewhat unicorns, particularly as a Plymouth and also as an ACR.  There were only 63 - 1995 Plymouth Neon NYG ACR Coupes ever made.  My first car was actually a 1996 Dodge Neon Base Coupe that was stripped of virtually every option and as a new driver, I really did not know what I had but I came to appreciate it over the years and it is the reason I got into the car hobby. 

Now onto the car... I found the NYG forsale through a fellow Mopar Enthusiast, who believe it or not, had two (2) NYG Plymouth ACR's. I had always wanted an NYG and I finally found my opportunity.  He was looking to sell one in order to use the proceeds to rebuild the engine and restore it completely back to stock.  I was more than happy to snatch up.  My goal on the car is to restore it where I can with the intent of actually driving and enjoying it.  So without further ado... this is the car on the day I picked it up.  Originally labeled "SNOTROCKET" from the drivers seat you can see where it was burned into the windshield glass (from the inside).

The NYG (my wife refuses to acknowledge it as the SNOTROCKET) needed paint more than anything else but for the most part was complete.  The original wheels were loaded in the trunk but had been painted black.  Those will need to be restored.  The original 2.0L DOHC engine had been replaced with a 2.0L SOHC Magnum engine and transmission but retained the factory A/C and other rare factory options (this one came with rear defrost also).  Interior was complete and relatively unaltered.  The center console and shifter taken from a PT cruiser.