keithj
keithj New Reader
1/7/13 11:14 p.m.

Hey, my name is KeithJ. Figured it is time I shared. I bought an ambulance... 79,000 miles 6.5 turbo fixed a brake line in the guys driveway and drove it home. So far I have bought 2 batteries, pads & shoes, glow plugs, fuel filter & seals, and a new harmonic balancer. Needs a hitch bolted on and I need to find where ever the parasitic battery drain is but thats about it. I think I may have bit off a bit more than I can chew with this one but its mine now so I am dealing with it. It is probably the most complete incomplete project I have ever had.

laz
laz Reader
1/8/13 2:06 a.m.

Find the parasitic drain? AHAHAHAHA

Ambulance wiring is THE WORST. I try not to look at it on mine, because the rats nest of "professional" wiring just pisses me off.

I haven't seen an ambulance (sample size: 3, I'm an amateur) that doesn't have a kill switch. This, to me, means that they all have electrical issues ;)

All that said, welcome to the ambulance owner club :)

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
1/8/13 8:17 a.m.

Oh yeah I can see how this thing must have more wiring than a military aircraft in the back. Can you cut off power to the whole medical cabin as a quick fix to save you having to buy new batteries?

81cpcamaro
81cpcamaro HalfDork
1/8/13 8:21 a.m.

Nice tow vehicle, even has cool outdoor "lighting". Tow hitch should be easy, its still just a cab and chassis under the ambulance body, so the hitches should be readily available.

golfduke
golfduke New Reader
1/8/13 9:00 a.m.

I love it... Look at all the room for tool storage. It's like a portable garage.

N Sperlo
N Sperlo UltimaDork
1/8/13 9:26 a.m.

Needs new paint job. Keep the lights. Thats awesome. I wish I had that alternator. I see its just a Chevy 3500 up front. I'm sure that wiring harness is a mess front to back, though.

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
1/8/13 12:46 p.m.