sethmeister4
sethmeister4 SuperDork
8/1/14 1:01 p.m.

I pulled the trigger on this the other day, so of course it's time to start a build thread. I won't really be building anything, per say, but maybe some of you will find the updates interesting. I have no experience with Suzuki's, so if you do please feel free to give me some pointers!

The car is a 2000 Esteem GL 1.8. 5 speed, one owner, 61k miles, all for $1500. Seemed like a great deal, so I couldn't pass it up. I had to replace the battery, and I need to either clean or replace the IAC Valve (P0505 code, tries to stall when it's cold). Other than that, it runs great and is pretty fun! I would like to lower it and replace the tires, maybe do some junkyard hop-ups, but other than that it will be mostly stock. It helps that there's not much available for this in the aftermarket. Anyway, here are some pics.

I was warned to check for rust on the subframe and the unibody mounting points. It has some surface rust, but nothing looked very bad. I can probably clean this up and prevent it from getting any worse.

Bobzilla
Bobzilla PowerDork
8/1/14 1:08 p.m.

That's pretty clean for it's age! I remember seeing those in 2003 and they looked worse than that!

Zomby Woof
Zomby Woof PowerDork
8/1/14 1:08 p.m.

Looks good. The interior looks a lot like my 2000 Swift

http://www.streetbeatcustoms.com/B&G-Suspension/Suspension/Suzuki-Esteem-B&G-S2-Sport-Lowering-Suspension-Springs-_-88.1.010/643377/

sethmeister4
sethmeister4 SuperDork
8/2/14 12:13 a.m.

Thanks guys! I really like it so far, it's actually pretty fun! And man do I miss rowing through the gears! Drove it a lot more today...sounds like I might have a wheel bearing starting to make some noise, and I could use an alignment. Other than that, it's good. Oh, and my 3 year old has given it his seal of approval, and that makes it all the better.

tdrrally
tdrrally New Reader
8/2/14 6:14 a.m.

great cars i'm looking to buy one my self