RPSadler
RPSadler New Reader
2/2/13 7:43 p.m.

Hello all, As my girlfriend said, "Your car yield this year is going well"... as we all are, I'm a car farmer. If they made it, I want to own it, fix it, drive it, and 'sometimes' break even. I'm already in the midst of re-rebuilding 1 of the 2 Mazda GTX's, have a Chrysler Conquest track project with my best friend, and literally just developed a external cylinder head leak on my daily driver Subaru GC8...

WHAT BETTER TIME TO SEARCH FOR A NEW STEED!?!

... you know the story: you are sitting on the couch with your lady(man)-friend who puts up with your auto obsession, they are watching TV and you're (I) par oozing Craiglist for fun, nothing serious... you just want to see if that Mazdaspeed LSD has sold... then you find it... the car that is remarkably cheap, closish, and you caught the ad 'just' in time.

The story of my new daily commuter: the 200,000 mile WRX wagon 5-speed

'Twas scrolling though CL and stumbled upon this beauty, thankfully the owner was cool and I went up to SF (about 60 miles way) the next day, test drive revealed no CEL or dangerous issues. Asking price $2500, bought for $2050 (woot woot):

Issues known to purchase: 1) Front end is ugly due to crash, 2) No A/C (no condensor and line to cabin sheared) - from crash, 3) NY registration (live in CA), 4) Clock doesn't work, 5) HVAC only works on setting 4 - high, 6) Alternator housing broken - no diag required, just ordered a used one from eBay, 7) MIrror compass inverted direction - calibrated and done, , + they had and loved a VERY hairy dog - after 2 go throughs it still there!!!

Now it being the cheapest WRX in the hemisphere, I knew something would happen, and it did. Lets give the diag some time.