1 2 3 ... 6
flatlander937
flatlander937 GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
4/13/15 9:48 p.m.

It's daily driven on stupid spring rates and homemade strut housings. Read the whole thread to see the details! Long time reader of GRM, and lurker of these forums, just now joining though. I'm making progress on my 2 so figured I'd cross post here because the 2 forums are s-l-o-w and frankly I like reading about a variety of cars/projects/etc. I had a 2009 Mazda3 2.0l/5spd that initially I got into autocrossing with... I REALLY wanted a Miata but a newborn son put that on hold. I auto-xed the 3 for about a year or so and decided I wanted a smaller more fun to drive car but still with a back seat. I drove a 2 at work(I'm a tech at a LARGE used car dealer) and it was just a stupid fun to drive car. I auto-xed it on some mixed crappy all season tires(Kumhos and stock Yokohamas 320 and 420TW IIRC?) to get used to the car. Over the 2014 season I added a DDM Works rear sway bar(the first thing you should do to one of these!) and it made a huge difference. I also built a rear motor mount because I'm not about to pay $90+ for some steel and $20 bushings. For the last event of the season I added some camber bolts to get about -2.2deg of camber up front. Made a nice difference to enjoy the last event of the year. I heel-toe like an idiot, and the pedals are too far apart to do so, and I hate aftermarket pedal covers with a passion so I made a throttle pedal extension so I can downshift somewhat smoothly. I also adjusted the brake pedal up just a bit to get the pedal height relation correct for me. ...

Fr3AkAzOiD
Fr3AkAzOiD Reader
4/13/15 9:58 p.m.

Looking forward to seeing what's next.

flatlander937
flatlander937 GRM+ Memberand New Reader
4/13/15 10:00 p.m.