1 2 3
EvanB
EvanB GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
6/1/17 12:51 p.m.

Attending the Southern Ohio Forest Rally recently reaffirmed my desire to build a car for stage rally. I have been rallycrossing a Miata for a few years but that obviously won't work for stage rally.

I initially was looking for a Volvo 240 to build since I have experience with them and they are fairly well documented. I had previously seen a Merkur on craigslist for $2500 that had been sitting for 5 years. I laughed at the ridiculous price and moved on. On Tuesday it popped up again but the price was now $999. I set up a time to look at it and drove over on my lunch break. After looking it over a bit and the seller repeating that he just needed it gone I offered $500. He immediately accepted.

So what I have now is a one owner 88 Xr4Ti with 96k miles. It is all stock and seems to have been well maintained until it was parked. He stopped driving it around 5 years ago when it would die after 20-30 minutes of running. He thought it was the fuel pump but I am leaning more toward a faulty ignition control module.

The plan is to rallycross it for the rest of the year and then build it for stage rally. Although it is all stock and in pretty decent shape so I may feel bad about stripping it and pick up something else.

Indy-Guy
Indy-Guy Dork
6/1/17 12:54 p.m.

Awesome Score! (I'm kinda jealous)

I've got a few spare bits from one of these sitting around if you need anything.

Gaunt596
Gaunt596 New Reader
6/1/17 1:05 p.m.

This would make two Merkur rally cars on this board. Do it. Hi read the other thread, it will tell you a lot about what needs done.

EvanB
6/1/17 1:07 p.m.
Gaunt596 wrote: This would make two Merkur rally cars on this board. Do it. Hi read the other thread, it will tell you a lot about what needs done.

Yep, I have read through Chris's thread. I saw his when he picked it up and it is part of why I was halfheartedly searching for one.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
¯\_(ツ)_/¯ SuperDork
6/1/17 1:21 p.m.