caiden251
caiden251 New Reader
12/18/21 12:53 p.m.

I have been driving by and noticing this car parked about 2 minutes from my house for the past few years. I finally stopped and knocked on the guys door asking if he had any interest in selling it; he said he did so here I am with another project. I have been viewing this forum for a few years now however this is my first time posting.

So, about the car, here are some pictures of how it sat when I picked it up.

The story is that a tree fell on it in 2014 and the PO never turned it into insurance or drove it again afterword. The car is in the exact same spot that it was when it was hit. Its a 1996 M edition with ~115k miles on it. I cranked it over for a split second and the motor is free but beyond that I don't know anything of the mechanical condition. I will try to keep this thread updated as I tear into the car some more.

johndej
johndej Dork
12/18/21 1:24 p.m.

Looks like a great project platform to roll with!

Woody (Forum Supportum)
Woody (Forum Supportum) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
12/18/21 1:29 p.m.

Cool.

Immediately clean the drains in the rear shelf by your shoulders. 

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
12/18/21 1:44 p.m.

It'll be interesting to see the condition of the interior. The leather Mazda uses has never been terribly robust. Fingers crossed!

Has a good spec on it, though - Torsen, OBD-II, etc. And based on the ride height, it has the original 1996 springs. Those things were safari before safari was cool.

caiden251
caiden251 New Reader
12/18/21 3:33 p.m.

Here are some more pictures of the car. The PO had the seats reupholstered at a local shop in 2011. He paid $1,100 for it. I could be mistaken but I didn't think the originals had two different shades like these. The car does appear to have the original 1996 springs although I am not familiar with what safari is.