1 2 3 4
Petrolburner
Petrolburner Dork
11/30/17 10:58 a.m.

Many of us have gone through a vehicular evolution as our budget and interests change. I'm a 32 year old Leadplane Pilot for the USFS now, fighting wildfires all over the USA. Before I go into what the plan for this build is, I'd like to take a short, pictorial stroll down my ExPo vehicle memory lane. 

My first 4x4, a 1986 Ford Bronco with a 302 H.O. and EFI when I was a college student.

1909767_506911184473_703_n by Petrolburner, on Flickr

Turned into this:

1929883_526416031603_3381_n by Petrolburner, on Flickr

Next, a more fuel efficient 1984 Toyota 4Runner with a carbureted 22R that I took to flight school.

1923274_506911289263_2457_n by Petrolburner, on Flickr

Turned into this

1927665_547412045423_88_n by Petrolburner, on Flickr

Next an '03 Toyota Tundra with the excellent 2UZ-FE 4.7l V8 

25380_615851023163_449030_n by Petrolburner, on Flickr

Turned into this

66546_646003272813_6150755_n by Petrolburner, on Flickr

We wanted to extend our camping season into the winter without shivering in a tent, so we bought an Aliner.

10300530_10100589410319503_1626980053382270606_n by Petrolburner, on Flickr

Then I bought the van on the left as an experiment. It wasn't big enough so I bought the van on the right. 

10900227_10100774031297583_34866401485781470_o by Petrolburner, on Flickr

The intention was just to use the van as a toyhauler and camp in the Aliner. Then a friend and I took a trip to the Baja 1000 and opted to leave the trailer at home and I'd sleep in the van and he'd sleep in a tent. This led me to build a single person loft in the top of the van. 

Untitled by Petrolburner, on Flickr

The 3rd trip to Baja with Gertrude the Motovan included some time with Kathleen so I built a two person loft. 

15403838_10101429687851593_3246367479282339102_o by Petrolburner, on Flickr
15385260_10101428810973863_2593519176761256254_o by Petrolburner, on Flickr