1 2 3 ... 15
SVreX
SVreX MegaDork
12/29/19 6:36 p.m.

This has been a really long journey.  

I've been the owner of this car for more than 10 years, and have never made any progress.  First it was time.  Then it was talent.  Or more precisely, my LACK of talent.  I always wanted to do something with it, but this is gonna really stretch my abilities.

Disclaimer:  Though some people think I am pretty talented at this stuff, the truth is I don't know E36 M3.  I can't weld, I don't have a good shop, I can't do the math for decent suspension geometry, and I've never built an engine.  I am just a carpenter. Nothing more.  There is no reason I should be able to do any kind of automotive build.  OK, I've had a few good $20XX Challenge cars, including a podium overall finish, and several top autocross efforts.  But those cars were at least partly built by someone else.  I've never built a significant build from beginning to end.  So yeah... this will be as grassroots as it gets.  

I didn't want to do a build thread.  It feels like too big a responsibility.  I suck at keeping them up.  But the truth is that I was afraid of making big promises that I couldn't keep and looking like an idiot.  I finally decided that I need your input.  I need your help.  I need you to hold me accountable and keep me on track, to inspire me, and to tell me when I am doing something stupid.

This build won't go quickly.  It will stall, and chase rabbits.  I have a family, and they are my priority.  But hopefully this will be great fun, and a fabulous car will be the result.  You will be a big part of it...   

The dream?  Retro-rod classic styling with a modern drivetrain and a weight to power ratio of about 6:1.  surprise  devil

Do I have your attention?? wink

SVreX
SVreX MegaDork
12/29/19 6:41 p.m.

This is the starting point...