n1tr0
n1tr0 None
11/3/16 1:01 a.m.

I know this subject line has come up a thousand times across hundreds of forums, but I haven't found any that're current or with similar goals. A bit of history; years ago I worked as a mechanic & fabricator building PCA racecars, then I went back to school and got my engineering degree. I've still got all my tools and a small CNC machine shop. I can make almost anything, but I'd like to stick with fabbing easy/fun stuff so this project doesn't feel like work. I'd like to build up a little convertible for track days and general fun. I'm not looking to be competitive, I just want a car that'll pass safety and handle well when it's being pushed to the limits on the track or traversing some crappy, concrete freeway.

It seems like I can purchase mid-late 70's MGBs, Spitfires, and Fiat Spiders all around the same price. They all seem to have a pretty good selection of parts availability. Regardless of which route I go, I'll add an ECU, ITBs and some modern electrics (and lose the 5mph bumpers).

The MGBs look to have some pretty crappy suspension standard, but there's lots of IFS kits to replace the king-pin setup and 4 link rear end kits to get rid of the leaf-springs. I've never had a car with a solid rear axle, so I'm a bit apprehensive of going this route. I've only found 1 company (Hoyle Suspension) that has a independent rear suspension kit and it's pretty dear. I'm no fan of the rubber bumpers, so I expect to do a lot of bodywork to get an MGB to where I want it.