1 2 3 ... 5
jh36
jh36 New Reader
8/9/16 7:46 a.m.

I’ve been racing “36” since 2003. Well, honestly, “36” has been four different cars, but as I transition from one car to another, enough parts seem to migrate that I consider them the same car. It is an early (for the most part) 944.

Current “36” was built as a SPEC-944 car, to the letter of the law. Unfortunately, that is not a NASA class that has gotten much traction in my area, so I have run it (in fairly underdog status) inside of GTS-1. As classes come and go, GTS1 is now thinning out, with many guys moving to GTS2 or to something else.
A couple of weeks ago, my son James and I headed to Dominion Raceway, a new track about halfway between DC and Richmond. My plan was to race the 944 and James was to attend his first HPDE. It’s a 2.0 mile, 12 turn track that is still under development, but I am super excited to have a new track “close” to home. We got there Thursday afternoon and helped build some tire walls just beyond turn 1.

We pulled the 944 with our Wanderlodge, which is a relatively new acquisition, and it makes a fantastic race support vehicle (and doubles as a NASA Official’s Remote Command Post during particularly hot days). Also, the diamond plate roof makes a killer observation platform.

We signed up for the Friday test and tune. Unfortunately, I hold the distinction of being the first racer to completely grenade an engine at the new track. Session two, second lap. I don’t have any rear facing video, but it was as though I was coming out of a perpetual tunnel, bright in the front and pitch dark in the rear. The inside of the cockpit sounded like a paint shaker doing its job with a can full of pebbles. I pulled off track left, coasted to a stop (irritatingly close to pit in) and waited for the hot pull, bathing in oil smoke and a 115 degree cockpit. Back at our paddock, I let the car cool down and then took a peak at the top…looked pretty normal. Looking below, I found A CLUE.