1 2 3 ... 5
slowbird
slowbird New Reader
6/13/19 8:16 p.m.

Well, I was reluctant to make a thread, for fear of making a fool of myself. But hey, I make a fool of myself all the time, so here goes.

I guess you could call this an impulse buy, or maybe an impulse bid, because I was browsing Copart for weird Fords as I often do, and came across this puppy down in Georgia. Now, on Copart, it's sometimes hard to tell what you're really buying, even if you look at the pictures carefully. But everything I was seeing looked pretty okay. The front was fine, and the rear just seemed to be missing the bumper cover and tail lights.

Now, I've never done this kind of thing before, but I figured, "how hard could it be" so I bid on it, max bid of $1000. (This will be important later.) I didn't really think I would win, in fact leading up to the auction day I thought it might be better if I didn't win, because I was having second thoughts. But when the live bidding started, I was kind of excited. Someone kept bidding on it as it crept up from $500 to $600, then $750, then $875. But then they stopped. And the time ticked down, and that was it. I won with a bid of $875, a fair ways off from my max bid! Yay!

Oh but wait, Copart charges fees, don't they?

Yes, dear reader. I'm dumb, don't be like me. Remember remember the fees of November, or April in this case. Okay so, what now? How do I get this car up to Pennsylvania? Can I even afford to ship it? (The answers were, "call the Copart location and ask dumb questions, pay for shipping through Copart to make it simpler, and yes but only with stupid usage of a credit card, in that order.) Several days later, a truck arrived in the vicinity of my home, but there's nowhere to unload at my house, so I had him go a quarter-mile down the road to the post office parking lot. It was dark, nobody was there so it was fine.