1 2 3
wetpossum
wetpossum New Reader
2/4/19 7:46 a.m.

My name is wetpossum and I have a sports car problem.  

Around 2007, one of my professor friends asked me to help him fix up an old E Type that he'd kept around as an engine swap mule so that he could sell it.  I proposed that instead he should hold on to it until I'd gotten a job after I graduated and then sell it to me.

Since it was 2007, you could go online get a car loan for a 40 year old sports car that hadn't run in a decade despite not having a job, a place to live, or any idea what the hell I was getting myself into.  Through a combination of stupid and lucky, I ended up with a matching numbers 1965 E Type S1 FHC for about the price of a new Civic at the time.

Original engine stored for at least 20 years, reunited with the car.  Tidy wiring not courtesy of Joe Lucas, more like Bubba Lucas.

With the future mrspossum:

Anyway, this might be an exercise in narcissism, but I figured I could start a thread showing the realities of owning a beater E Type.  Maintenance, troubleshooting, "lifestyle" etc.

mazdeuce - Seth
mazdeuce - Seth Mod Squad
2/4/19 8:26 a.m.

Very interested. I've talked to a couple of E-type owners over the years and more than half of them have told me that they hate the ownership experience. Something along the lines of getting the attention of an exotic with the maintenence of a decomposing Land Rover. I still want one. 

TED_fiestaHP
TED_fiestaHP Reader
2/4/19 8:53 a.m.

This should be a great story, please tell us more!

dculberson
dculberson UltimaDork
2/4/19 9:16 a.m.

From the title I assumed a Mercedes or BMW. Seeing the E-type, I audibly gasped. Sweet car. The E30 M3 is fine and all, but that E type!!!

Pete Gossett
Pete Gossett GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
2/4/19 9:31 a.m.

This right here is all I know about vintage Jag ownership, but I think it speaks volumes. 

Yes, I still want one!

bigeyedfish
bigeyedfish Reader
2/4/19 11:44 a.m.