1 2 3 ... 6
spacecadet (Forum Supporter)
spacecadet (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
7/29/20 11:01 p.m.

I've been driving this car off and on for 12 years.. but it's never been my car.

It's been my parents car....  specifically my dad's. My parents bought it 12 years ago next month. I remember the day they brought it home VERY clearly.

R2 is looking like it's going to need time to shake it down, and I don't have the time to do that before I drive it across the country to TX.

My dad suggested I buy the Fit off him.. which I've been kinda trying to do for YEARS. Insurance called today to give me numbers for Ronald and it's enough to buy the Fit and then I can worry about parting Ronald and Selling R2 in the meantime. 

Car has lived in the midwest for it's entire life, but I borrowed this car for the summer 9 years ago when i did my first internship at NASA JSC. This car cas been to the Alamo and it went to the last space shuttle launch. I have a lot of memories in this car.

I even drove this car to senior prom and lots of other fun senior year memories from high school. I learned to properly drive a stick on this car.

It has ALWAYS been special to me...

7/30/20 12:29 a.m.

The plan is to deploy this car as my new DD and sell R2 and Ronald to fund a K24 swap for Hazmat.

That plan allows me to pull the rear seats out of hazmat, toss in the roll bar and the harnesses..... and focus on it being a track car first and foremost.

The Fit may be used for Gridlife Spec Fit.. but it's not my primary concern right now.

sleepyhead the buffalo
sleepyhead the buffalo GRM+ Memberand Mod Squad
7/30/20 3:58 a.m.

a wild couple of months

I recommend getting some fresh rotors, stainless lines, and HP+ pads... that way you can roll it onto a track if the need arises, while Hazmat is "in work".  Also, keep in mind, miata wheels won't fit over the larger Honda centerbore

congrats, good luck!

Sweet! I love some FIT.