1 2 3 ... 6
mrap1000
mrap1000 New Reader
7/30/16 7:15 p.m.

I’m a frugal mechanic. I have a selection of hand tools, a device capable of melting metal together, and a floor jack. I don’t have a lift or special manufacturer’s tools. My workplace will never be featured in “Garage Journal”. In short, I’m typical of most of the GRM “hive”.

Some of us have longed to own a Porsche with the engine in the “proper” position (behind the driver’s seat) but have watched with jaw-dropping amazement as the prices of air-cooled examples have soared to the stratosphere. Well, there are the 986 Boxsters and 996 Carreras – well handling, nice looking enthusiast vehicles. And the prices of Boxsters, especially, seems to be very appealing, with examples from the late 90’s changing hands for well under $8K.

But as most of you know, there’s a reason the buy-in on these cars is so low. It’s the engine, right? The result of an unholy alliance of Porsche engineers and Toyota consultants, the M96 engine has a reputation of failing in numerous and amusing ways. Cylinder bores calve off huge chunks of liner material, which ricochets through the engine causing all sorts of havoc. Intermediate shaft bearings fail and aerosol a mist of iron chips straight to the journal bearings. Most of us know someone who purchased a Boxster or Carrera and paid the dealer or local indy shop the equivalent of the purchase price to keep it running for the first year of ownership.

But how difficult is it really to work on these cars? Could a person with a job, kids, and significant other get one of these cars running reliably without losing all three? Will the price of parts cause heart palpitations?

Well, you’re about to find out. I’ve bought a 2000 Porsche Boxster.