1 2 3 ... 6
SteveDallas
SteveDallas New Reader
1/1/17 10:09 a.m.

Quick Background

I am a HPDE instructor and have been tracking my 2011 Mazda RX-8 for 4 years. It is time to return that car to touring duty, before I tear up what is still a really nice car. I believe I have pushed that car as far is I can take it, short of adding power to the Renesis, and that usually ends similarly to marrying a stripper. (There might be a theme developing in this thread already.)

After driving a lot of students' cars and taking a really hard look at what could be a suitable and economical replacement for the excellent handling of the RX-8, I quite shockingly settled on a Miata. It ticks all of the boxes, except for one: fairly cheap to buy, reliable, inexpensive and plentiful parts, cheap tires, rear wheel drive, manual transmission, front and rear double wishbone suspension, nearly 50/50 weight distribution, light weight, great handling--all the good stuff everyone has known about Miatas for years. Just needs more power!

The Search

Unfortunately, this is not a "I scored a dirt cheap Miata to build into a track car!" story.