1 2
mattmacklind
mattmacklind SuperDork
9/12/08 6:49 p.m.

Just wondering, is there any classic car you would turn down if someone were to offer it to you for free? I'm talking about any car widely considered to be a classic, in generally rust free, running, "3 or 3+" condition?

I don't know why I thought of this, but I did, and it took me a while to come up with one. You have to consider that, even if you don't like it and planned to sell it, its not worth the time and effort to find a buyer or even a taker.

The only one I could think of is a Maserati Biturbo. I mean, I would take just about anything, car, truck, jeep, american, euro, asian, soviet you name it, but that would be the only classic car I would turn down if someone said "here's the keys and the title". Now, don't go telling me its not a classic. Its 2008 and it is a classic, if not then at least a relic. Here's why I would say no.

I am a bad mechanic. I make no pretense to being handy with the steel. I can destroy things with my bare hands that were forged in the flames of Hades just by thinking about working on them. Think Magneto from the X-Men with a really bad hangover and you get the idea. This confines me to cars that are ether very reliable or very basic, so I have an MG and a Benz 300D. No exotics for me, thanks, so thats one strike, as you know the Maserati is going to need lots of lovin.

So why not just hoon the crap out of the Maser' and junk it? That would be an option I suppose, but I don't like to destroy things by driving them, only by trying to repair them, and I actually like the Biturbo and respect it in a strange and dysfunctional way.