Tim Baxter
Tim Baxter Online Editor
8/11/08 4:42 p.m.

With thanks to the MG Experience forum, from which I completely and without shame stole the topic...

Did you ever purchase a classic brand new? Walk right into the dealership and pick up a '67 BGT, '71 Alfa, etc?

If so, tell the story. What was it like to buck the trend and buy a funny furrin' car instead of a nice sensible sedan?

Most of what we now consider was long gone by the time I got my license in '84, but I do remember going to the Bertone/Ferrari dealership in Jackson, MS, trying to figure out how I could possibly buy an X1/9--and never quite figuring out a way.

aeronca65t
aeronca65t Reader
8/11/08 5:12 p.m.

Almost.

I bought a '67 Austin Healey Sprite when it was 18 months old and had 19,000 miles on it. It was bascially perfect. For $800.

At the time, I was an almost destitute undergraduate student at Trenton State College, so $800 was a lot of money. The seller was a beautiful Princeton graduate student who I'd met. She had just finished her PhD and was returning to South Africa.

Oh well....at least I got a car out of the deal [/sigh]

I drove that car to college.

I slept in it at Watkins Glen in '69 (next to the bog).

~I Autocrossed It~

I eventually stripped the Sprite down and built it into a ~Race Car~ (I'd bought an old Mini for the street)

I did lots of laps at Bridgehampton with it in the early '70s.

After many years of neglect (while I was fooling around with motorcycles and airplanes), it became a parts-car. I still have the tub squirreled away in an old shed.

My present ~Spridget Vintage Racer~ still wears one front and one rear fender from that car as well as most of the front suspension. The engine, trans and other stuff is in another car I have.

By the way, your kind of limiting yourself to the "old guys" with this question.

Unless you want to include cars like the new Miata I bought a few a few years ago.

TR3only
TR3only New Reader
8/12/08 8:27 a.m.