ddavidv
ddavidv UltimaDork
7/3/21 6:39 a.m.

I've been browsing for what may be my last project car. My goal is to have something that will evolve over time that I can drive in between upgrades. The main criteria is that it can't need rust repair aside from a small patch or two or some floorpans. I'm not interested in hanging panels or doing structural repairs. Not really wanting something that needs painted, but I'd be happy with 'tatty' or a good 10 footer because I use my cars more than stare at them. But, I also don't want to be embarrassed by how bad it may look.

I want to do a small block Ford/T-5 build. Hardly original, but it's what appeals to me and I've never worked with the SBF before. I've essentially narrowed my selection down to two cars.

65-66 Mustang coupe:  this is the Easy Button choice. I can mail order the entire car and there are plenty to choose from, although they seem to either be complete rotten basket cases or expensive, nicer cars I wouldn't want to butcher. The Mustangs seem to run about 2x what the other choice goes for. Narrower engine bay, crappier front suspension (that will get tossed anyway), rattly frameless windows and donors that are typically much more used up at my price point. Everyone has one, so they don't really garner attention at shows. Not really important to me, but it does factor. Easy to sell should I tire of it. This would be the 'smart' choice.