MadScientistMatt
MadScientistMatt SuperDork
3/14/13 11:29 a.m.

Anybody spot somebody with a classic and a LOT of dedication lately? This Monday, I was driving home in pouring rain on I-285 in rush hour, and there in the lane next to me was a nicely restored Sunbeam Tiger. The only concession I could see to practicality was he'd put some sort of hard top on it.

You guys happen to see any classic cars show up lately in a time and place you figure nobody would be driving such a thing?

TR8owner
TR8owner Reader
3/14/13 12:55 p.m.

A local school teacher has an immaculate Volvo p1800 that he drives regularly to work. I can see it in the school parking lot from my house.

bravenrace
bravenrace PowerDork
3/14/13 1:02 p.m.

When I was a kid my art teacher drove a '68 427 Vette every day all year around. My science teach in high school drove a Boss 351 Mustang and my shop teacher had a '66 Vette. One of my friend's Mom's drove a '69 Z28 and another had a Road Runner....Oh wait... Now that I think of it, they really weren't classics then.

Ian F
Ian F PowerDork
3/14/13 3:49 p.m.

I used to see a guy driving a '69 Chevelle every morning in all weather - rain, shine, snow... whatever... The car was far from perfect, however, and I haven't seen it in awhile. I have seen a similar age El Camino on the same roads at about the same time, so I'm guessing it's the same owner.

There's a guy near the office with a 69 (I think) 4dr Cutlass who also seems to use it as his every day car. He likes to park in the unused back of our lot and sit for a few hours - to get away from the wife, maybe? Who knows, but we notice him there from the 3rd floor window a few times a month.

I've seen a guy driving a MG in all weather - no hardtop, just the std top.

Earlier this week I saw a MGB GT driving down a back road - I've seen him a couple of times before.