friedgreencorrado
friedgreencorrado UltimaDork
2/26/21 3:24 a.m.

Hey y'all. Yes, I know I've not been posting very often lately (not much motorsport, or even street car stuff going on), but I still read posts every day. And this is the best car forum in the world.

Seller's on FB Marketplace (I actually kind of hate it, but it's the *new* Craigslist, so it seems). Even though the '07 Accord (with a manual!) 4dr I picked up after my RSX got t-boned is a pretty good appliance, I'm bored with it. Not to mention it's as big as the '70s domestic cars my parents let me borrow when I was a new driver back then. Parking's a PITA, and at 58yrs old, I'm no longer taking six people on a road trip to a concert, or forcing my 30yr old daughter into a child seat. I just bought it when I found it when my DD was dead, and I had to go back to work the next week.

Tips about scouting a CL? From what I've read, the Type-S is the only one with a manual (I've already read what a disaster the slushboxes were on these cars). Still has that 'old-school' Honda double wishbones up front, but with much less flaccid spring rates. Old road tests (including one from Car and Driver mag) says it also has some sort of limited slip diff up front.

Seller says 201K mi (not afraid of that if it's a well maintained Honda), a lil' noise from the power steering pump. Only interior pic is of the odo showing mileage. Don't know if it's really a 3-pedal car or not. Asking $2500, I've got about $2100 that I can offer. I'd share the link, but half of y'all don't put up with FB..and the other half would snipe me if it's a good deal!

I hope I get some of my cred back for doing a "This car?" thread, instead of a "What car" thread.. ;)

John Welsh
John Welsh Mod Squad
2/26/21 5:39 a.m.

Is it really a manual trans?

This is the gauge cluster of an auto trans 2003 Acura CL. Notice the notations for which gear the auto trans is in.  Compare to the picture of the one you're shopping. 

ebay gauge cluster