1 2 3
ShawneeCreek
ShawneeCreek GRM+ Memberand Reader
1/10/12 6:07 p.m.

Cliffnotes: This 1988 BMW 325is will be a part of my college Senior Project at Trine University and entered in the $2012 and/or $2013 Challenge.

Ever since reading about the $20xx challenge in Grassroots Motorsports I’ve dreamed about entering the competition myself. And as a mechanical engineering student I am required to do a capstone project my senior year. I decided that I might be able to combine the two; but I needed to do some research/checking first. First, I determined that I wanted to see the Challenge first hand and see how well it was run and if it would be worth competing in. So my Dad and I drove a little more than 1000 miles from northeast Indiana to Gainesville for the $2011 Challenge. I did little more planning than booking a hotel room nearby, printing off the schedule, and mixing up some trail mix. My Dad and I showed up early to the track on Friday and offered to work corners at the autocross (best seats in the house). We ended up working the course for almost the entire day. (You might remember me as the tall, blond guy working corner 2 at the end of the first slalom.) We came back on Saturday for the drags that were unfortunately rained out. But I had a great time talking with everyone and looking over the cars. And I learned a lot about what it takes to have a competitive car. Oh, and I got this cool little crocheted cone from someone on the team that brought the blue Camaro. Sorry, I forget your name, but I love it.