1 2
David S. Wallens
David S. Wallens Editorial Director
11/14/22 8:17 a.m.

With the advantage of hindsight, perhaps sending off two absolute noobs in an off-road, high-performance side-by-side during a press introduction was asking for an incident.

“Ever drive one of these before?”

“Nope. You?”

“Same.”

We’d figure it all out somehow, right? Gas on the right, brakes on the left, no bumping.

For the first session, I’d be the passenger/ballast.

Halfway …

Read the rest of the story

J.A. Ackley
J.A. Ackley Senior Editor
11/14/22 12:30 p.m.

Hindsight always seems to be 20/20, especially in these situations. It's a good reminder.

Jesse Ransom
Jesse Ransom GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
11/14/22 3:25 p.m.

Oof. Glad you mostly got a reminder of how wrong things can go, though it doesn't sound like "unscathed" is quite the word either.

Important stuff, calculated risk, and figuring out how much calculation to do, and when there are important differences between "casual" and "stupid." That's very much not directed at anybody in this anecdote, it's just a truly difficult thing to spot, doubly so if the flow of the event is sweeping you along.

I've been thinking about this sort of thing lately with a longing eye cast toward some of the Australian and British car and bike track events. I like how these seem (from a distance, at least) to keep some of the aggression and competition tamped down where it's not appropriate, but I also don't know how one fosters—let alone enforces—the sort of "casual but serious" combo needed to keep things light while not so light as to be inappropriate for the fundamentals of vehicles on track. And they don't have perfect records, either.

Lof8 - Andy
Lof8 - Andy GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
11/14/22 3:37 p.m.

These things, in stock form, can't be tossed too hard.  And the factory roll cages are made of tin foil.  They need to be lower, stiffer, and a proper cage fitted before they're safe to push things.

Colin Wood